top of page
Search
  • Eli Ellertson

College Major and a Famous Person In It

At this point I am hoping to major in the science of information systems. It will teach me how to create and use complex computing systems and networks. I want to take this major because I always like to design stuff and figure out how things work. I am also the technology troubleshooter for my family. At one college that I am accepted in, Neumont, has us do a Capstone Project in the third year of this major. The work that I do in this year of the PLTW class will help me understand what type of stuff might be needed to share the project. With this major I would be able to get a job as a Systems Administrator. I would be responsible for taking care and configuring computer systems like servers.


A famous person that part of the network field is Radia Perlman. I believe she is now retired but her latest job was to recreate the Spanning Tree Protocol (STP) that she created in the past at Novell. Novell wanted her to make it more secure and optimal to make it better to connect computers together and share information. At that point of working at Novell, Radia had a PhD in computer science from MIT. To get this job she left a company called Digital. If I had to describe her in five words with the knowledge I have, I would say pioneer, smart, inventive, hardworking, and successful. I chose to research Radia because STP is almost the start of the internet and was the basis of her career to help her create so much more after. For the career that she had, I like that she was able to create projects from scratch and even make them better in the future to keep up with technology. From what I found in my research article, there was not a lot stated about the specifics of the job and so I am not able to know what may or is something that I would dislike about her job.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page